SIOE 2021

25th Annual ISNIE / SIOE Conference
zoom links are here

The Society for Institutional and Organizational Economics (SIOE) studies institutions and organizations, largely but not entirely from the perspective of economics. In 2021, SIOE will hold its annual conference online during Thursday, June 24 through Saturday, June 26.

The conference will begin with a plenary panel of past presidents discussing “What Would Coase, North, Ostrom, and Williamson Want Us to Remember?” Later on Thursday there will be a keynote address by Melissa Dell (Harvard) on “The State, Organization, and Economic Development in East Asia,” and on Friday there will be a keynote by Ekaterina Zhuravskaya (PSE) on “3G Internet and Confidence in Government.”

There will also be 47 live-streamed sessions presented in seven time blocks. Both an overview of the schedule (with session titles) and the full schedule (with paper titles and presenter names) can be found here.  In addition, the full program of live-streamed and self-streamed sessions, including abstracts of most papers (and downloadable copies of many) can be found here.

In an attempt to accommodate participants from a range of time zones, presentations will occur both (a) during roughly 11:00-15:30 ET on all three days and also (b) during roughly 18:30-23:30 ET on Thursday, June 24.

Finally, to conclude the conference, three awards will be presented: the Ronald Coase Award (for best dissertation), the Oliver Williamson Award (for best paper presented at the conference), and the Elinor Ostrom Award (for sustained significant contributions to the field).

Attendance at the conference will be free but does require registration. In addition, while costs of an online conference are much lower than for an in-person event, there are non-trivial costs of assembling and hosting our online event (this year and last). Those who register for the conference and become SIOE members here will receive a statement documenting that their payment entitles them to both membership and conference attendance.

The broad (and somewhat overlapping) topic areas for the program are:

  1. Governance within organizations
    • Such as motivation & incentives, communication & decision-making, delegation, management practices, organizational culture, structure, corporate governance
  2. Governance between organizations
    • Such as formal contracts, relational contracts, alliances, procurement, vertical integration, lateral integration, franchising, hybrid organizational forms
  3. Polycentric governance (Ostrom, AER 2010)
    • Such as communities, cooperatives, common-pool resources, associations, leagues, organized crime, treaties, networks, social movements, collective action
  4. Institutions and organizations in the public sector
    • Such as bureaucracy, legislatures, political parties, constitutions, courts, federalism, public-private partnerships, regulation
  5. Institutions and organizations in political economy
    • Such as autocracy, transition, reform, corruption, rule of law, property rights, enforcement of law
  6. Culture and institutions
    • Such as religion, slavery, race, gender, media, norms
  7. Institutions and organizations in economic development and growth
    • Topics such as those above, in low-income and/or weakly institutionalized settings
  8. Law, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of law
  9. Political Science, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of political science
  10. Strategic Management, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of strategic management

The members of the conference’s executive committee are:

  • Lisa Bernstein (Chicago)
  • Renee Bowen (UCSD)
  • Silke Forbes (Tufts)
  • Robert Gibbons (MIT)—chair
  • Pauline Grosjean (UNSW)
  • Maria Guadalupe (INSEAD)
  • Nan Jia (USC)
  • Ruixue Jia (UCSD)
  • Weijia Li (Monash)
  • Diana Moreira (UC Davis)
  • Emily Sellars (Yale)

The members of the conference’s program committee are:

  • Shan Aman-Rana (University of Virginia)
  • Ying Bai (Hong Kong)
  • Samuel Bazzi (UCSD)
  • Anke Becker (Harvard)
  • Zoe Cullen (Harvard)
  • Golvine de Rochambeaud (Sciences Po)
  • Inga Deimen (Arizona)
  • Erika Deserranno (Northwestern)
  • Mathias Fahn (JKU Linz)
  • Scott Gehlbach (Chicago)
  • Anna Gumpert (LMU München)
  • Daniel Hemel (Chicago)
  • Ilwoo (Iru) Hwang (Seoul Nat’l Univ.)
  • Aseem Kaul (Minnesota)
  • Daniel Klerman (USC)
  • Hongyi Li (UNSW)
  • Jiao Luo (Minnesota)
  • Sara Lowes (UCSD) 
  • Elizabeth Lyons (UCSD)
  • Federico Masera (UNSW) 
  • Ameet Morjaria (Northwestern)
  • Joana Naritomi (LSE)
  • Yusuf Neggers (Michigan)
  • Kieu-Trang Nguyen (Northwestern)
  • Kish Parella (Washington and Lee)
  • Bertrand Quelin (HEC Paris)
  • Heikki Rantakari (Rochester)
  • Yogita Shamdasani (Nat’l. Univ. Singapore)
  • Anja Shortland (King’s College London)
  • Alberto Simpser (ITAM)
  • Tuan-Hwee Sng (Nat’l. Univ. Singapore)
  • Maria Titova (Vanderbilt)
  • Marta Troya-Martinez (New Econ. Sch.)
  • Sarah Walker (UNSW)
  • Yang Xie (UC Riverside)
  • David Yang (Harvard)
  • Angela Zhang (Hong Kong)