Oliver Williamson Best Conference Paper Award 2019 to Paper on Sweden’s Radical Right

Torsten Persson (center) accepts the Williamson Award from SIOE President-Elect Tore Ellingsen and President Francine Lafontaine

By Francine Lafontaine

Background: The Oliver Williamson Best Conference Paper Award is open to all papers accepted for presentation and given at SIOE’s annual meeting. A sub-group of members of the Program Committee, chosen by the program chair Tore Ellingsen, shortlisted a small set...

The 2019 Ronald Coase Award Finalists

Sara Lowes receiving the Ronald Coase Award 2019 from SIOE's President-Elect Tore Ellingsen and President Francine Lafontaine

By Pauline Grosjean

I had the pleasure of chairing the 2019 Ronald H. Coase Dissertation Award committee. My deepest thanks to my fellow committee members: Renee Adams (our committee member) (Oxford), Andrea Prat (Columbia), and Stephane Saussier (Sorbonne).

What a great vintage...

Best Poster Award for Work Comparing Nonprofit and For-profit Firms

By Francine Lafontaine

Next to the best paper award, at this year's SIOE conference also a best poster award was handed out for the best poster presentation given. It went to Bertrand V. Quelin (pictured) for his work with Marieke Huysentruyt (both HEC Paris), "Why For-profit Companies...

Best Paper Award at Montreal Conference is on Peruvian Fishmeal Manufacturing Industry

By Francine Lafontaine

At the SIOE 2018 conference in Montreal, the Oliver Williamson Best Conference Paper Award for the best paper delivered at the conference was awarded to "Vertical Integration, Supplier Behavior, and Quality Upgrading Among Exporters," by Christopher Hansman (...

Coase Best Dissertation Award for thesis on Gang Governance in Rio de Janeiro

By Nan Jia

The Ronald H. Coase Best Dissertation Award is handed out annualy for the best doctoral dissertation in institutional and organizational economics. During SIOE's recent conference in Montreal (June 21-23), Nicholas Barnes was awarded the award for his dissertation “Monopolies...

2018 SIOE Awards: Announcement and Call for Nominations

By Bentley MacLeod

This year the Society for Institutional and Organizational Economics calls for nominations for the 2018 Douglass North and 2018 Ronald Coase Awards.

The Douglass North Best Book Award For the best book in institutional and organizational economics published in...

Lifetime Achievement Award for Yoram Barzel

Yoram Barzel (left) during the Award ceremony on 24 June, 2017, with SIOE President-Elect Bentley MacLeod (right).

By Bentley MacLeod

The SIOE Board voted to award the 2017 Elinor Ostrom Lifetime Achievement Award to Professor Yoram Barzel (University of Washington). Professor Barzel got his BA from Hebrew University in 1953, and MA in 1956. He moved to the University of Chicago where he got his PhD...